5 things

i have a lot of little quirks in the way that i get dressed or made up that my friends always comment on, but they come so naturally to me that i forget that they’re weird. some are newly acquired and others are deeply engrained, either stemming from necessity or idiosyncrasy. here are a few things that, i guess, “define me”…

1. i wear A LOT of color. a friend once saw a bit of me in the background of a picture, no face visible at all, and said “is that T? that combo is so something she would wear.” maybe i just surround myself with people who prefer neutrals, but i always have the brightest attire of my posse. life just feels so much more festive in color!

= FUN!

2. i layer like nobody’s business. this one definitely originally came about as a necessity, but turned fun quickly. i get cold really easily, so even in the bay’s kind of chilly, but constant, temps i keep several layers on at all times. on a more extreme level, i perfected my layering skills during a winter trip around eastern europe (yes, i am insane). i think the record stands at: two layers of long underwear, long sleeved tee, two sweaters of some wool/cashmere variety, a thin puffer jacket, a wool coat, a calf length trench and two scarves. check out this pick for proof.

yes, i do work part time as a sumo wrestler. or a stand-in for the michelin man. PS that's the berliner dom in the background.

but on a more casual, and normally-temperatured, day, i usually keep the numbers down (if i wore 10 layers every day i would not only die of heat exhaustion but quickly run out of clothes to wear!). today i layered this red tee with a white sweater, then a brown one, then a black jacket. i love the way that the sleeves peek out from one another, plus this is a handy way to keep your forearms warm while wearing those crop-sleeved jackets.

1, 2, 3, 4, and bracelets! sorry for shitty photo quality. a girl can only do so much on a bus.

NOTE: this is another way for me to sneak more color into my wardrobe AND make use of my larger than life collection of cardigans. a girl really shouldn’t own as many as i do, but I “share them with my sister,” so the number’s really halved, right?

3. i almost always have a small barrette in my bag to clip back my too long “long layers” that are constantly falling in my face. and when i don’t have one i am tucking hair behind my ear often enough to be cursing my forgetfulness within 5 minutes of discovering the terrible situation i have gotten myself into.

my favorite is cobalt (SURPRISE!) but in a pinch i go for tortoise shell

what? get a different haircut you say? either i have yet to find the perfect cut (short, medium, long, sideswept, straight, i’ve tried it all with the same results), or i am too easily angered by hair in my eye, but so much trial and error has led me to the zen of the barrette, and i’ve been here for a while with minimal issue (unless i’m unprepared, then who knows what wrath will erupt). But i am open to suggestion if anyone knows of THE cut.

oh clemence, if only my hair stayed tucked

4. i put in a bare minimum of effort when it comes to make-up and cosmetics. if it takes me longer than five minutes total, i’m over it. this resulted in the same smudged eye-liner look at every party during college, leading to remarks of “you always wear eye-liner the same way” from friends i saw at these parties. one being a boy no less; that’s when you know it’s bad. from then on i think i just went with straight mascara. simple. classic. not worthy of being called out if repeated.

now that colored lipstick is all the rage, i have definitely hopped on that bandwagon when i need to dress-up my look (oh hey! another way to add more color! i’m there). glosses or anything too sticky gets annoying so i’ve taken to lip pencils and crayons because they allow you to change up the intensity of the color and they have a staying power that is at least twice that of glosses. currently loving my COLORSCIENCE pencils in bed of roses (slightly darker version of my natural shade for a subtle touch) and red brick road (every girl needs a red lip option), but i don’t know if they are better or worse than any drugstore brand. i got them on sale for $5 and they have a nifty sharpener in the lid which is a win in my book.

5. i have recently gotten very excited about nail color and (cue fact #1) my nails are almost always adorned in a bright shade. present favorite is a cobalt blue, preceded by a light aqua-y green, a forest green, a navy blue and a lavender. i’m thinking my next step will be pistachio?

does anyone else have any style quirks to confess?

Leave a Reply

